40 Day RFC – Baked Chicken

Here is an easy recipe for those who just can’t wrap their mind around what Real Food is. Smile.

Baked Chicken with Vege’s.

This is incredibly delicious and super easy to make.

Ingredients:

1 Whole Organic Chicken

Some Vege’s: I like potatoes, carrots, onions, mushrooms.

Some homemade salsa, or store bought if it is raw.

Remember, pasteurization is a modern way to kill anything that could spoil. In the process it kills all the enzymes and most of the vitamins and turns real food into a manufactured ingestible. Salsa in the store is pasteurized, so make your own or find some that is raw.

Ro make raw salsa:

  • Dice a few organic tomatoes – I use 2-4 depending on their size.
  • Dice some green onions to flavor – 1 whole bunch, generally.
  • Dice some mild Jalepeno to flavor – 1/2-1, if it is mild. Less if it is hot.
  • Season with cumin if you don’t have an allergy to it.  Cumin wigs out my brain like gluten does, so I avoid it, but I love the flavor.
  • Mince some cilantro – 1 bunch
Mix all together and enjoy.  If you like it spicier, you can add red chile flakes, chili powder, or garlic or garlic powder . . . to taste.  Some people like to add salt. I find the tomatoes salty enough on their own.
So you take your Chicken and stuff some salsa under the skin of the breast and work it down under the skin on the legs and thighs. A tablespoon per leg and maybe two per breast and you are good to go.
Chop up the veges and place them in the bottom of a roasting pan. Place the Chicken
on top of the veges. If you are having company, you can roast it breast up for a pretty chicken. If no one is viewing it, roast it breast down for a moister meat. I also set the giblets in an obvious position in the pan, for those who like them.
I also put in 1/2 to 1 whole lemon (quartered) – in the cavity of the bird.
You can also drizzle raw organic olive oil http://www.barianni.com on the skin for a nice crisp and pretty brown skin.
I bake this 2 hours at 350 or 3-4 hours at 300, if I’m going to be out and about and want it ready when I come home.
This is incredibly tasty, satisfying and simple.  I sometimes serve a salad with this, but often have it just as it is. Everyone who has ever eaten this has wanted the recipe. When I tell them they are always amazed that it is so simple.
Next time I make this I will take a picture and post it here.
Real food rocks!
Donna
2 responses to “40 Day RFC – Baked Chicken

  1. Sounds good, Donna! I enjoy both salsa and chicken, but have never baked it that way before. Can’t wait to try it 🙂

    • Hey Vicki, Well, if you try it, let us know what you think! I usually place only potatoes under the chicken and scatter the other veges around the edge, This keeps the chicken from sticking to the pan, and makes the potatoes underneath taste great.

Leave a Reply

